05
Mar
12

Windows 8 CP: Activation and DotNet 3.5

Image

When Windows 8 Developer Preview came out, I downloaded and installed them on a spare PC to check them out. Appart from getting a genral feel of the new Metro UI and fooling around, there was not much else to do, so I quickly set that PC aside and went back to my everyday life.

A few days ago though, Consuper Preview came out. Big news, right? So naturally, I downloaded the iso from here, brought back that spare PC and installed. I was expecting to see some changes and changes I did see.

First of all, it looks more like an operating system compared to DP (oh come on, I can’t be the only one who smiled right now) which looked like a demo of an OS. Web Store is now functional, with a good deal of apps to try out, but most importantly you now have solitaire available! That’s right. You don’t have proper Windows, unless you can play a game of solitaire.

I do not plan to go into much detail about Windows 8 themselves. Over the last few days, there has been a ton of reviews, presentations and posts about them, so whatever it might have been that I wanted to say, it has probably already been said. However, one thing that stuck into my mind the first time (with Developer Preview) and did not change, was that Windows 8 would be great for a tablet, or something with a touch screen in general, but I don’t think I could get used to this style of working on a daily basis. 

Anyway, I have a couple of tips for you, hoping to save you some time and frustration.

1) Install Microsoft Dot Net 3.5 (or 2.0)

One of the first things I had to do, was to install Mouse Without Borders, a nice little program straight out of the Microsoft Garage, that allows you to control many PCs with the same keyboard/mouse. Unfortunatelly, MWB requires DotNet 2.0, while Windows 8 come with version 4.0. For some reason, unknown to me and although there was nothing wrong with my internet connection, I could not seem to be able to download DotNet. Searching for a solution, I came across this post. What worked, was not the procedure describesd in the post, but what a comenter suggested. Open an elevated command prompt and type:

dism /online /enable-feature /featurename:NetFx3 /all /source:YourWindowsCDPath\sources\sxs. HTH

You are good to go.

2) Activate Windows

Make sure your date and time are set correctly, otherwise you will never activate your copy. Simple, but I spent a good amount of time trying to figure out what was going on, before I thought of checking the time.

 

8 Responses to “Windows 8 CP: Activation and DotNet 3.5”


  1. 1 CDS
    March 5, 2012 at 8:30 pm

    HEY BRO PLEASE HELP I AM TRYING TO INSTALL DOT NET I HAVE TRIED FROM INTERNET UPDATE AND MANUALLY TOO BUT ALL IS WASTE OF HOURS AND HOURS OF TIME MY CMD KNOWLEDGE IS NOT GOOD ENOUGH BUT I TRIED TO USE CD C;\ and get to the root but i think iam wrong on that one please tell us about elevated cmmand promote

    help!!!!!!!!! help!!!!!!!!! help!!!!!!!!! help!!!!!!!!!

    • March 5, 2012 at 9:28 pm

      Ok, relax, no need for caps. To run the command prompt with administrator rights (elevated) right click on it and choose “Run as administrator”.

      Then copy and paste the command I supply above. Be sure to put the correct drive letter for your CD Drive.

  2. 5 srinavin
    March 25, 2012 at 9:01 pm

    BRO i right clicked on the run command, cant see “run as administrator” option.. help me .. also confused whether to add space before .hth extension

  3. May 9, 2014 at 4:01 am

    This is a topic that is close to my heart… Thank you!
    Exactly where are your contact details though?


Leave a Reply

March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Yeah, I got one o’ those…

  • Αφού δεν τα πήρε ο #xaikalis, θέτε να τα δώσετε σε μένα που έχω κάτι τρύπες να κλείσω; 9 hours ago
  • RT @aouts: - Έλα μάνα απασφαλίζω πυρηνική βόμβα κάτω από ένα νοσοκομείο γεμάτο νεογέννητα μωρά είναι επείγον; - Κάτσε μισό λεπτό να σου πω… 1 day ago
  • Παρών 2 days ago
  • Hey, have we met? RT"@Manolis_SX @rosenred εξυπνάκια" 2 days ago
  • @Manolis_SX Εκεί το είδα 2 days ago

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

