12
Sep
08

Hellboy II: The Golden Army [movie – no spoilers]

I was never a big fan of Hellboy. On second thought, I hardly like the comic and I hated the first movie. One could start an endless debate here, so I will use the ultimate secret technique of personal taste and get away with it ^^

I was curious however, to see what del Toro would do with the sequel and I publicly admit that although in most cases the sequels are worse than the first movie (“If you’d told us the truth, we would’ve told you to shove that red pill right up your ass“), I almost always watch them.

For those of you who haven’t seen it yet, I do not intend to spoil the fun (hence the “no spoilers” in the title), just say a few thoughts, some things I liked, some things I didn’t and maybe arrange an appointment with a shrink, because the things I liked were more than the things I didn’t like and I actually found it to be a pretty enjoyable movie.

The basic story is that the creatures of mythos, have been cast away by the humans, who did not honor the truce, after a bloody war that took place millenia ago. Nuada, Prince of the Elves, cannot stand to see his people live in hiding, so he takes it to himself, to  awaken the golden army, in order to rule over the humans. Guess who is caught in the middle of this. Right. Hellboy, the son of S, has to choose sides and work out the problems in his relationship with Liz at the same time.

Well, the concept of a world existing in the shadow of another world, is not new, you’ve seen it before, so  expect the usual, pumped up by Hellboy’s attitude. Relationships? You have to admit that seeing this from a different point of view (that would be the relationship between a hell spawn and a girl on fire) makes it somehow interesting.

I found what they did with the elves intriguing, not quite sure whether I liked it or not to tell you the truth, but I know I liked this one! Elves are supposed to be slender and beautiful with heightened features, proud and arrogant and trust me they were, but in a twisted, creepy sort of way. I’d like to hear another opinion on this, so feel free to share your thoughts in the comments.

Yeah, it was not a spectacular movie, I don’t even know if I will watch it again (unless I stumble upon it late at night on TV), but I would be lying if I told you I didn’t enjoy it.

3 Responses to “Hellboy II: The Golden Army [movie – no spoilers]”


  1. 1 tkas
    September 12, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    First of all Hellboy is not the son of S (I assume that you are refering to Satan here)but the son of the Fallen one which is a completely different thing. Apart from my geeky observation the movie was alright. Near perfect visuals but as with the “Pan’s Labyrinth” the story was devoid of meaning and characters. I don’t know if I was waiting for something more from Del Toro since I am not a huge fun, but this movie was a disappointment for me. (But way better than the first one, an easy feat of course since the first movie was a dissaster)

  2. September 12, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    “During a visit to Bromwich Church (the place of his “birth”), Hellboy learns he had been conceived 300 years ago by a witch, Catherine Tanner-Tremaine, and a demon Prince of Sheol. At this time, Hellboy had not existed as a baby in the “real” world; the prince’s “favorite son” was considered to be “a power waiting to be born.” Hellboy’s “mother” also had children: a nun and a priest who would later haunt the church, dying in an attempt to stop the demon from claiming Tanner-Tremaine on her deathbed.”

    Guess you’re right, according to IMDB

  3. 3 tkas
    September 12, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    Well Actually I was not referring to Hellboy lore but at the wrong connection between Satan and the Fallen one. In the movie the princess Nualla named him the son of the fallen one, meaning Lucifer. Satan is a totally different person according το the Judean Lore which the Christians wrongly came to identify as Lucifer. For more references check your Bible 😛


Leave a Reply

September 2008
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Yeah, I got one o’ those…

  • Θέλω να πιστεύω ότι υπάρχει κάποιος λόγος που το Paypal δεν μου εγκρίνει την πληρωμή στο Steam με Visa debit της @Alpha_Bank. 11 months ago
  • RT @JohnPliotas: Θα γίνει πόλεμος με #Τουρκια αύριο και τα ελληνικά sites θα ανεβάζουν άρθρα "δείτε τα 20 καλύτερα tweets για την κήρυξη το… 1 year ago
  • @ZERSOFIA σωστά πρέπει το κοινό να έχει επιλογές 1 year ago
  • Εν τω μεταξύ στην ΕΤ2 δεν έχουν πάρει χαμπάρι . 1 year ago
  • @koukos Προς το παρόν OneNote γιατί ήταν εύκολο να μεταφέρω όλα μου τα notes εκεί. Θα δω όμως. 1 year ago

