04
Sep
10

Very Slow Windows 7 Installation

Image via Cheeseburger network

A friend of mine wanted to set up a new PC. She chose some parts, she decided what to keep from her old rig and we got to assembling her machine. Everything went as expected, so we came to the part where we would install Windows 7.

To our terror, the installation process was slower than a senile turtle with chopped off legs (she was a bit more frightened than me because she had paid for all that stuff).

Google is our friend though and blah blah, I did a quick search and I found this extremely useful post.

So basically, what you need to do if you are experiencing the same situation (don’t worry, you will know), just go to the BIOS screen, and disable the floppy drive.  Note that in our case there was no floppy drive present and probably that’s what causing the problem.

I have absolutely no idea how Microsoft let this one get away. I mean what did they do when testing Windows? They disabled the floppy to begin with?

But anyway, if you find your installation to be painfully slow, give this a try. If it doesn’t fix things, well, how can I put it subtly? You’re screwed…

7 Responses to “Very Slow Windows 7 Installation”


  1. September 8, 2010 at 11:15 am

    Hmm, I smell Bios Enumeration woes.

    Floppies don’t exist anymore for microsoft. They are obsolete.

  2. September 19, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    Well, this is true, but on the other hand, MS has been dominating the market for almost 30 years and that’s something we unfortunately cannot ignore. I mean, there must be a reason for that except marketing and aggressive policies right? Because If I am wrong then, there’s something completely wrong with how the market works…

    I am glad you find my tips useful, I am always happy to share knowledge with others. Feel free to drop by anytime.

    PS: Sorry for answering in English, but when I started writhing here, I decided it would be about things anybody could read. My email is at your disposal for anything not covered in here:
    ( rosenred [dot] blog [at] gmail [dot] com )

  3. January 10, 2015 at 3:26 am

    Hello There. I found your weblog using msn. That is a really
    smartly written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read extra of your useful
    info. Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely return.

  4. July 23, 2015 at 4:18 am

    Hello to all, the contens present at this site are actually amazing for people knowledge, well, keep up the nice work fellows.


Leave a Reply

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Yeah, I got one o’ those…

  • Θέλω να πιστεύω ότι υπάρχει κάποιος λόγος που το Paypal δεν μου εγκρίνει την πληρωμή στο Steam με Visa debit της @Alpha_Bank. 9 months ago
  • RT @JohnPliotas: Θα γίνει πόλεμος με #Τουρκια αύριο και τα ελληνικά sites θα ανεβάζουν άρθρα "δείτε τα 20 καλύτερα tweets για την κήρυξη το… 11 months ago
  • @ZERSOFIA σωστά πρέπει το κοινό να έχει επιλογές 11 months ago
  • Εν τω μεταξύ στην ΕΤ2 δεν έχουν πάρει χαμπάρι . 11 months ago
  • @koukos Προς το παρόν OneNote γιατί ήταν εύκολο να μεταφέρω όλα μου τα notes εκεί. Θα δω όμως. 12 months ago

