14
Mar
11

Firefox 4.0 RC “Save and Quit” Feature missing (and how to restore it)

As you probably guessed, I am testing the RC version of Firefox 4. I have installed it on both my work and my home PC, but I haven’t yet tested the synchronization. Do not worry, when I do, I will surely report any problems with it. So far, I am really satisfied with the new version. Apart from the eye candy, which is always welcome but not the one thing that will make me change my mind, there are significant improvements to speed and stability, which I am sure you can read in much better detail elsewhere.

The one thing that I immediately noticed and did not like, was that whenever I had multiple tabs open, there would be an option to save my session upon exit. In the new version however, while there is a warning that multiple tabs are open, it will not give you the option to save your session. When you restart Firefox, if your home page is set to “about:home” (or you open that page yourself), you will see a restore session button, similar to what you might have seen after a crash.

It seems that this is something that other people besides me are concerned about, as a quick search on MozillaZine showed. It also seems that the solution is much simpler than I anticipated:

Open a new tab, type “about:config” in the address bar and after you promise to be careful, search for an option called “browser.showQuitWarning“. When you set it to true, everything will return to how you’re used to.

For more information, be sure to read Paul O’Shannessy’s blog post.

13 Responses to “Firefox 4.0 RC “Save and Quit” Feature missing (and how to restore it)”


  1. 1 Fanya
    March 17, 2011 at 6:36 pm

    Really useful, Thx for the nice information

  2. 3 Vineet
    March 22, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    M so glad I landed at this page, very helpful or else I would have rolled back to the older version 😀

  3. March 23, 2011 at 11:16 am

    And how do you like v.4 so far?

  4. 5 Janey Smathers
    March 24, 2011 at 10:59 am

    Thank you so much for this!! I love the improvements on FF4 but don’t like the changes (two very separate things in my mind). This was the last thing that I needed to change and I was just about to give up and revert to 3.6.whatever when I came across this. Now I have FF4 set exactly as I had 3 configured and can reap the benefits of the improvements 🙂

  5. March 24, 2011 at 11:46 am

    Have you noticed the improvement on speed and stability? I might be biased here, but I think it runs much better than 3.6

    • 7 Janey Smathers
      March 24, 2011 at 12:03 pm

      It’s too soon for me to judge the stability because I experienced long stretches with 3.6 without any problems, and then suddenly the sites I most frequently visit would stick for 30-60 seconds or the browser would crash frequently.

      But I have definitely noticed a huge improvement on speed. We don’t have very good service here, and the best provider is a little worse than the company everyone avoids in a high-density population area, so I never get the full benefit from any from browser. And yet this is still much faster! I’d estimate about 4x faster and maybe even 5x faster when we’re getting max speed from our provider.

      My only gripe with 4 so far is that they made too many drastic changes to the GUI and don’t have a detailed, step-by-step guide for reverting it to resemble 3 on their site. I had to spend nearly two hours hunting forum and blog posts to locate working solutions (and too many non-working solutions, including on mozilla.org) to change features it seems many people want to change. I understand why they made the changes, as it helps to draw Chrome and Safari users, but long-time Firefox users with little-to-no development experience are left in the cold. I was just really surprised that literally none of the working solutions I found weren’t on mozilla.org when they’ve previously linked support threads on the update page that address much less drastic changes.

      • March 24, 2011 at 12:42 pm

        I know what you mean… I too was a bit hesitant with the new gui, but I decided to keep it for a while and not change anything (except the save as thing 🙂 ) only to try out my adaptivity 🙂

  6. 9 tom
    March 26, 2011 at 8:18 pm

    I went thru the steps, it is set to TRUE, but i do not get the SAVE AND QUIT option, only the “sure you want to close multiple tabs” warning.
    Hmmm

    • March 26, 2011 at 9:22 pm

      There are two options that have to be set to TRUE in order for this to work:

      browser.showQuitWarning
      browser.warnOnQuit

      If at some point you had chosen not to be notified about closing multiple tabs, I guess one of them is set to false.

      Change them both to true and see if it works 🙂

  7. 11 tom
    March 26, 2011 at 10:34 pm

    thanks, they both show TRUE, any other ideas? and I don’t have to shut down the computer for it to take effect, right? just shut down and open new browsers, right?

  8. 12 tom
    March 26, 2011 at 10:47 pm

    i also just saw a Mozilla support entry which shows four possible re-sets that need to be adjusted.
    all of mine indicate TRUE but i still have the issue

  9. March 8, 2013 at 5:05 am

    Hello, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog in Chrome, it looks fine but when
    opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Other then that, great blog!


Leave a Reply

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Yeah, I got one o’ those…

  • Θέλω να πιστεύω ότι υπάρχει κάποιος λόγος που το Paypal δεν μου εγκρίνει την πληρωμή στο Steam με Visa debit της @Alpha_Bank. 9 months ago
  • RT @JohnPliotas: Θα γίνει πόλεμος με #Τουρκια αύριο και τα ελληνικά sites θα ανεβάζουν άρθρα "δείτε τα 20 καλύτερα tweets για την κήρυξη το… 11 months ago
  • @ZERSOFIA σωστά πρέπει το κοινό να έχει επιλογές 11 months ago
  • Εν τω μεταξύ στην ΕΤ2 δεν έχουν πάρει χαμπάρι . 11 months ago
  • @koukos Προς το παρόν OneNote γιατί ήταν εύκολο να μεταφέρω όλα μου τα notes εκεί. Θα δω όμως. 12 months ago

