05
Mar
12

Windows 8 CP: Activation and DotNet 3.5

Image

When Windows 8 Developer Preview came out, I downloaded and installed them on a spare PC to check them out. Appart from getting a genral feel of the new Metro UI and fooling around, there was not much else to do, so I quickly set that PC aside and went back to my everyday life.

A few days ago though, Consuper Preview came out. Big news, right? So naturally, I downloaded the iso from here, brought back that spare PC and installed. I was expecting to see some changes and changes I did see.

First of all, it looks more like an operating system compared to DP (oh come on, I can’t be the only one who smiled right now) which looked like a demo of an OS. Web Store is now functional, with a good deal of apps to try out, but most importantly you now have solitaire available! That’s right. You don’t have proper Windows, unless you can play a game of solitaire.

I do not plan to go into much detail about Windows 8 themselves. Over the last few days, there has been a ton of reviews, presentations and posts about them, so whatever it might have been that I wanted to say, it has probably already been said. However, one thing that stuck into my mind the first time (with Developer Preview) and did not change, was that Windows 8 would be great for a tablet, or something with a touch screen in general, but I don’t think I could get used to this style of working on a daily basis. 

Anyway, I have a couple of tips for you, hoping to save you some time and frustration.

1) Install Microsoft Dot Net 3.5 (or 2.0)

One of the first things I had to do, was to install Mouse Without Borders, a nice little program straight out of the Microsoft Garage, that allows you to control many PCs with the same keyboard/mouse. Unfortunatelly, MWB requires DotNet 2.0, while Windows 8 come with version 4.0. For some reason, unknown to me and although there was nothing wrong with my internet connection, I could not seem to be able to download DotNet. Searching for a solution, I came across this post. What worked, was not the procedure describesd in the post, but what a comenter suggested. Open an elevated command prompt and type:

dism /online /enable-feature /featurename:NetFx3 /all /source:YourWindowsCDPath\sources\sxs. HTH

You are good to go.

2) Activate Windows

Make sure your date and time are set correctly, otherwise you will never activate your copy. Simple, but I spent a good amount of time trying to figure out what was going on, before I thought of checking the time.

 


13 Responses to “Windows 8 CP: Activation and DotNet 3.5”


  1. 1 CDS
    March 5, 2012 at 8:30 pm

    HEY BRO PLEASE HELP I AM TRYING TO INSTALL DOT NET I HAVE TRIED FROM INTERNET UPDATE AND MANUALLY TOO BUT ALL IS WASTE OF HOURS AND HOURS OF TIME MY CMD KNOWLEDGE IS NOT GOOD ENOUGH BUT I TRIED TO USE CD C;\ and get to the root but i think iam wrong on that one please tell us about elevated cmmand promote

    help!!!!!!!!! help!!!!!!!!! help!!!!!!!!! help!!!!!!!!!

    • March 5, 2012 at 9:28 pm

      Ok, relax, no need for caps. To run the command prompt with administrator rights (elevated) right click on it and choose “Run as administrator”.

      Then copy and paste the command I supply above. Be sure to put the correct drive letter for your CD Drive.

  2. 5 srinavin
    March 25, 2012 at 9:01 pm

    BRO i right clicked on the run command, cant see “run as administrator” option.. help me .. also confused whether to add space before .hth extension

  3. May 9, 2014 at 4:01 am

    This is a topic that is close to my heart… Thank you!
    Exactly where are your contact details though?

  4. January 20, 2015 at 8:44 pm

    There are thousands of people playing the game regular and fighting, among all folks’s there are individuals who purchase’s stone the in-game currency to speed buildings, get yourself resources making
    them a lot more strong than ordinary player”. This hack tool created for individuals who would like to dominate this game easily. This is the only one working Clash of Clans Hack for i – Phone, i – Pad, i – Pod and Android.

  5. February 16, 2015 at 5:52 am

    telecharger hack gratuit is an expansive topic, you’ll find
    a lot of different things to learn about it. Whether its farming your
    land or sending your military on missions, everything about this app is addictive.
    I am not an acoustic guitar player but would appreciate to get one seeing that I have the
    flavors for Rockin.

  6. March 8, 2015 at 2:09 am

    In most sport leagues, a complete face protection is essential on the helmet but some also allow eyeshades or no face guard at all.

    Stick to educational titles when buying for children, rather than buy ones full of
    violence and inappropriate content. Because there are so many exhibitors,
    there were many games shown at E3.

  7. March 27, 2015 at 1:36 pm

    Have you ever ever though to make use of your money to play on-line football betting at Agen Sbobet.
    Demi meminimalkan resiko kekalahan, maka oleh sebab
    itu sebagusnya membuat Trik System 5S – 5 Single betting.
    Agen judi has a great offering for you if you really want to have a great betting for your hobby and this is the
    place for you to do that.


Leave a comment


March 2012
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

inspired mumblings…